Department of Foreign Languages

Prospective Faculty

 

Thank you for your interest in teaching in the Department of Foreign Languages! We are constantly searching for top-quality Army Officers with extensive knowledge of foreign languages and cultures to teach and share their experiences with the Cadets at USMA.  We believe that knowing a foreign language is a vital part of understanding other cultures and peoples.  Our instructors help to prepare future Officers to lead Soldiers no matter where in the world the Army sends them.

For the Faculty Search Period with a deadline of October 2019, we are specifically looking for instructors of Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Persian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish. Those officers would start graduate school, if necessary, during the Summer of 2021, with a follow-on assignment in the Department of Foreign Languages at West Point, beginning o/a 1 July 2023.

Does this sound exciting to you?

Please feel free to contact the following officers regarding your language of interest:

Arabic – MAJ Clay Hardwick, clay.hardwick@westpoint.edu

Chinese – CPT James Daniel, james.daniel@westpoint.edu

French – MAJ Lou Cascino, louis.cascino@westpoint.edu

German – MAJ Eric Simpson, eric.simpson@westpoint.edu

Persian – MAJ Elissa Adams, elissa.adams@westpoint.edu

Portuguese – CPT Kurt Huxel, kurt.huxel@westpoint.edu

Russian – LTC Brian Kilgore, brian.kilgore@westpoint.edu

Spanish – MAJ George Gurrola, george.gurrola@westpoint.edu

In order to teach in the Department of Foreign Languages (DFL) an Officer must:

  • be in the grade of O3 or above (primary focus on YGs 2013, 2014 and 2015)
  • be a career course graduate
  • be Company Grade Key Development (KD) complete (NLT start of Graduate School)
  • possess the aptitude to teach one or more of the languages within the DFL, based on your DLPT score and a candidate interview
  • possess at least a Master’s Degree in the language being taught

Graduate Study concentrations such as Area Studies may only be considered on a case-by-case basis and approved by the DFL Chain of Command.

You can apply to join the rotating military faculty through the Army Advanced Civil Schooling (ACS) program (Master’s or, in some cases, Ph.D.) or through a direct fill assignment (if you already possess at least a Master’s Degree and display proficiency in the language).  If selected to teach in DFL, the Army will grant you a fully paid Scholarship to earn a graduate degree from a U.S. University of your choice (concentrating in literature, linguistics, or second language acquisition).  Master’s Degree candidates must complete their degree in one or two years; Ph.D. candidates have three years. 

Upon degree completion, rotating military faculty members will serve a two- or three-year utilization tour teaching foreign language at USMA. 
 

Application Process

 

Frequently Asked Questions